Over two hundred years ago the area of Selbyville, Delaware, including parts of Maryland was known as St. Martin’s Parish. The original parish church was St. Martin’s in Showell, Maryland built in 1759 and endures as one of the most significant religious sites on the lower Eastern shore, considered by many as an architectural gem of Episcopal history. This St. Martin’s still exists as the St. Martin’s Episcopal Museum, run by the St. Martins Foundation.
St. Martin’s in the Field was built in 1952 as a mission of the Diocese of Delaware . In addition to the sanctuary, there is a Parish Hall with kitchen, large dining/ assembly hall, rector’s office, administrative office and a rear parking area with three storage sheds on approximately a half-acre of land.